By Sarah Gabot on September 21, 2012 in RentJuice Company with 0 Comments

Troy Simon

Photo credit: Troy Simon

Troy Simon moved from his hometown Philadelphia to the San Francisco Bay Area. Twice. This time, hopefully, this move is for good.

Simon, a former professional photographer, left the Bay Area in the 90’s only to come back again a few years later. The number of regrets: zero.

When he was on the market for a job as a programmer, there were several companies itching to get him on their team. After all his interviews, he decided he only wanted to work for one company—RentJuice.

And obviously, he got the job.

Read about Troy Simon in his recent interview with The Rental Standard:

Q: What were you doing before RentJuice?

I was a professional photographer.

I traveled about 200 days out of the year, and sold photos to travel agents and magazines.

Then I started my own studio and did that for a while. That’s actually how I met my wife; I took her photo.

Q: How did you learn how to program?

I taught myself. I learned programming when I was about 14-15 years old. I picked up some books and just started doing it. I had a natural knack for it.

Q: How’d you join our team?

I got tired of taking photos, and went back into programming. I built electronic poker tables that were in a lot of Indian reservations. When my partner moved on, I started to do mobile.

My wife’s job was ending back east. So I put my resume out in San Francisco. I got about 20 offers my first week. But after visiting RentJuice, I knew I wanted to work here, so I turned everyone else down. I got hired by the one company in my life that I wanted to work for.

Q: What is your biggest accomplishment?

Getting my kids through college.

Q: What do you like about working at RentJuice?

I love the environment. I love the people. It’s just a fun environment to be in.

Q: What do you miss about Philadelphia?

Nothing.

Oh, wait. I have one thing I miss: Cheesesteaks.

Q: Where do you like to go for lunch in San Francisco?

I’m strange when I go to lunch.

Most of these guys go to the same place everyday. I just tell them, “I’m going to walk the streets” and end up in a store somewhere. I try pretty much everything.

Q: What do you like to eat in our kitchen?

Red Vines. My wife buys it every week or two. We have about three of those large containers in our kitchen. Nobody else touches them but me.

Later, I learned that Red Vines were made in the East Bay. I thought, “Oh my God! I’m at the home of the Red Vines.”

Q: What are your four kids up to?

Ian, 23, graduated college and went into the NFL draft. He currently plays arena football, but his agent is trying to get him into a Canadian football team.

Erin, 20, plays soccer at the University of Kentucky and works for Dow Jones.

Matthew, 20, loves money and loves to work. That guy has a lot of jobs—like three or four. He would give up sleep to work.

Tamara, 13, just goes to school and swims. All she wants to do is swim.

Q: What’s one little-known fact about you?

I’m going to be 50 years old in two years. I’m going on a National Geographic photography tour and will shoot in safari for my 50th.
Sarah Gabot

Sarah Gabot is a Marketing Coordinator at RentJuice.

 

