Tech

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been using a Moto X on loan from Motorola. It is not my favorite smartphone–that distinction still goes to the HTC One–but it’s the best software experience I’ve ever seen on an Android handset.

I’ve been thinking about this in light of Apple’s iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C announcements on Tuesday. Though I personally prefer Android, what I’ve always appreciated about the iPhone is how it wastes nothing. There are no gimmicky features or tech specs that only exist for bragging rights. Everything in the iPhone is there to help the user–or as Jony Ive says, to make the technology disappear.

The Moto X is the rare Android phone that feels the same way. Unlike so many other Android devices, the Moto X doesn’t have any junkware or useless gimmicks. The phone comes out of the box with a practically clean home…

View original post 754 more words

